November 7, 2018

November 6 Election Results

Last night’s election results are in, and the needle is pointing up on Justice in Louisiana.

Ballot Amendment 2, creating a unanimous jury, passed in a landslide, with 64% of the vote! A historic statewide turnout of 49% was helped by the incredible work of the Unanimous Jury Coalition (UJC). Considering the hard work and momentum created by Voice of the Experienced over the years, we are all reaping the benefits of non-partisan criminal justice reform. With nearly one million people voting to fix a glaring injustice, this sends a clear signal to state legislators, and to the Governor, the people demand changes in Louisiana’s culture of incarceration.

Amendment 1: It remains unclear if voters fully knew what they were voting for, but unfortunately, Louisiana voters passed Amendment 1 (with 75% of the vote) and bar people convicted of felonies from running for office or being appointed to positions of trust, for a period of 5 years after their punishment ends (including probation and parole). Some voters mistakenly believed that Amendment 1 was a reduction in punishment, rather than an increase because they didn’t know the current rule did not bar people at all. This means voters can’t elect the leaders of their choice, and it remains to be seen if barring people from ‘positions of trust’ has any bearing on their ability to serve the community.

Secretary of State: Gwen Collins-Greenup (20%) and Kyle Ardoin (20%) both advance to a December 8th run-off election. Both candidates are invited to a community forum next week, at Corpus Christi Community Center (2022 St. Bernard Ave, New Orleans), where voters will want to know more about voter access and eligibility under the new law restoring voting rights to people on probation and parole.

Congress: As expected, Louisiana still has five Republican and one Democrat in the House of Representatives. New Orleans-area incumbents Steve Scalise (CD-1) and Cedric Richmond (CD-2), having won multiple elections, are firmly entrenched and re-elected with a 71% and 81% victory, respectively. Mike Johnson (CD-4, including Shreveport) won his first re-election, by 64%, showing the power of the incumbency. Meanwhile, Ralph Abraham (CD-5, Northwest LA) also won by 67%, and Garret Graves (CD-6, Baton Rouge) stays in the House with a 69% victory. Clay Higgins (CD-3, Southeast LA), was thought to be vulnerable to several challengers, yet won his first re-election with 56% of the vote.

Amendments 3, 4, 5, and 6 all passed as well. Perhaps the “Yes on Two” voters just played it safe and voted Yes on Everything? Fantasy Football will also be legal in parishes that further authorize it, and actual state regulations will be created in the next legislative session.

Mayor of Shreveport: There will be a runoff election between the incumbent mayor, Democrat Ollie S. Tyler (24%), and newcomer, Democrat Adrian Perkins (29%) on December 8th. To learn more about each candidate, view their candidate profiles here.

Councilmen races:

District A: Incumbent councilman, Democrat Willie Bradford (44%), and former councilwoman, Democrat Rose Wilson McCulloch (31%) will face each other in the runoff election on December 8.

District B: Democrat LeVette Fuller (45%) and Republican Wendy Vance (22%) will also head to a runoff

District C: Republicans John Nickelson (45%) and Patrick Kirton (35%) will meet in the runoff as well.

District D: As will Republican Grayson Boucher (38%) and Democrat Versa Clark (23%)

District E: Incumbent councilman, Republican James Flurry (53%) won re-election.

District F: Former city councilman, Democrat Rev. James Green (53%) won in district F.

School board:

Incoming school board members will include Republicans “Steve” Riall (72%) from District 1, “Don” Little (52%) from District 4, Denee’ Locke (57%) from District 8, and “Tony” Nations, R (53%) from District 10. Joining them are Democrats Lloyd Thomas (54%) from District 3 and Dottie Bell (63%) from District 12.

Democrats from District 7, Raymond E. Green (46%) and Barbara Johnson (43%), will head to the runoff election on December 8.

U.S. Representative, 4th congressional district: Incumbent Republican Mike Johnson won with 52% of the vote.

The Parishwide Proposition (Public Facilities Tax Renewal) passed with 63% of the vote.



To add this to your homescreen, tap the arrow icon below and then choose Add to Home Screen