November 7, 2018

November 6 Election Results

Last night’s election results are in, and the needle is pointing up on justice in Louisiana.

Ballot Amendment 2, creating a unanimous jury, passed by a landslide, with 64% of the vote! Excitingly, Amendment 2 passed in Jefferson Parish with 67% of the vote. A historic statewide turnout of 49% was helped by the incredible work of the Unanimous Jury Coalition (UJC). Considering the hard work and momentum created by Voice of the Experienced over the years, we are all reaping the benefits of non-partisan criminal justice reform. With nearly one million people voting to fix a glaring injustice, this sends a clear signal to state legislators, and to the Governor, that the people demand changes in Louisiana’s culture of incarceration.

Amendment 1: It remains unclear if voters fully knew what they were voting for, but unfortunately, Amendment 1 passed (with 75% of the vote). This bars people convicted of felonies from running for office or being appointed to positions of trust, for a period of five years after their punishment ends (including probation and parole). Some voters mistakenly believed that Amendment 1 was a reduction in punishment, rather than an increase, because they didn’t know that the current rule did not bar people at all. This means voters can’t elect the leaders of their choice, and it remains to be seen if barring people from ‘positions of trust’ has any bearing on their ability to serve the community.

Secretary of State: Gwen Collins-Greenup (20%) and Kyle Ardoin (20%) both advance to a December 8th run-off election. Both candidates are invited to a community forum next week, at Corpus Christi Community Center (2022 St. Bernard Ave, New Orleans), where citizens will have the opportunity to ask about voter access and eligibility under the new law (Act 636), which restores voting rights to people on probation and parole.

Congress: As expected, Louisiana still has five Republican and one Democrat in the House of Representatives. New Orleans-area incumbents Steve Scalise (CD-1) and Cedric Richmond (CD-2), having won multiple elections, are firmly entrenched and were re-elected with a 71% and 81% victory, respectively. Mike Johnson (CD-4, including Shreveport) won his first re-election, by 64%, showing the power of the incumbency. Meanwhile, Ralph Abraham (CD-5, Northwest LA) also won by 67%, and Garret Graves (CD-6, Baton Rouge) stays in the House with a 69% victory. Clay Higgins (CD-3, Southeast LA), was thought to be vulnerable to several challengers, yet won his first re-election with 56% of the vote.

Amendments 3, 4, 5, and 6 all passed as well. Perhaps the “Yes on Two” voters just played it safe and voted Yes on Everything? Fantasy Football will also be legal in parishes that further authorize it, and actual state regulations will be created in the next legislative session.

Jefferson Parish

Judge of Juvenile Court, Section B: Amanda Calogero is Jefferson Parish’s new Judge of Juvenile Court, Section B. Calogero received 58% of the vote, defeating opponent Jennifer Guillot Womble.

Mayor, City of Harahan: Tim Baudier unseated incumbent Tina Miceli for the Mayor of Harahan. Baudier received 52% of the vote.

Members of School Board: The incoming members of the Jefferson Parish school board are Mark Morgan (District 1, 53%), Clay Moise (District 4, 55%), Chad Nugent (District 8, 62%), “Sandy” Denapolis-Bosarge (District 9, 65%). Three run-off races for Jefferson Parish School Board will be held on December 8. In District 2, incumbent Ricky Johnson earned 43% of the vote and will face Eddie Boudreaux (23%) in December. Tiffany Kuhn received 45% of the vote in District 3 and will face Mark Terrebonne in the runoff. In District 5, incumbent Cedric Floyd received 43% of the vote and will face Simeon Dickerson (37%) in the runoff.

Councilmen, City of Harahan: Thirteen candidates competed for the five available seats on Harahan’s City Council. Eric Chatelain was elected, receiving 12% of the vote. Incumbent Craig Johnston was also elected with 11% of the vote. Tommy Budde (10%), incumbent Carrie Wheeler (9%), Darlene Schwartz (9%), Jason Asbill (9%), incumbent Sue Benton (8%), and Bryan Whittle Sr., (7%) will compete in the runoff election on December 8.

Parishwide Propositions: The Parishwide Proposition Detention Facilities and Juvenile Services Department (Millage Renewal) passed with 63% of the vote. The Parishwide Proposition Health and Human Services and Animal Shelter and Related Activities (Millage Renewal) passed with 71% of the vote.

The Consolidated Drainage District No. 2 Proposition (Drainage Millage Renewal) passed with 73% of the vote. The Fire Protection District No. 7 Proposition (Fire Protection Millage Renewal) passed with 78% of the vote and the Fire Protection District No. 9 Proposition (Fire Protection Millage) passed with 59% of the vote.


To add this to your homescreen, tap the arrow icon below and then choose Add to Home Screen